Chapter – 8

The weeks quickly passed by and the New Year rolled in with Adam and I sitting on the couch watching horror flicks, as Mom went out with Matt. Sadly for us, school started up again on Monday, and every time I see Jax, I can’t help but to blush at the fact I had seen him half naked. Today after school, I sit down on the love seat across from Adam who had stayed  home sick, laying on the couch watching tv. I still can’t get the thought out of my mind with Jax standing in my room shirtless, leaving all of his tattoos exposed on his wet muscular body. Suddenly the sound of Adam’s voice snaps me back into reality. “Earth to Faith! What has you staring into outer space?” he chuckles. “Very funny! I’m just trying to think of something to do this evening since I don’t have any homework,” I reply. “Actually, I have something to ask you, more of a favor really,” Adam says as he sneezes into his tissue. “What is it?” I ask curiously. “Can you fill in for me tonight? I’m supposed to go with Jax to see a movie, but Mom says I can’t go because I’m sick,” he says. “Sure, I can fill in for you. I mean it’s no problem really,” I tell him. A small smile spreads across his face as it’s interrupted with yet another sneeze. “And this is why you aren’t going anywhere young man. Not with your fever and with you sneezing like that,” Mom tells him. “What time is Jax supposed to be picking you up?” I ask Adam. “He said he would be here by six,” Adam replies. “Alright so I should have plenty of time to….. CRAP! Adam! It’s almost five now! Ugh! I better hurry and find something to wear!” I exclaim and rush off to get ready for the movie. 

Once I’m showered, dressed, and have my hair and makeup done, my cell phone rings. I look on the screen of my phone to see that it’s Heather calling me. I run my index finger across the phone symbol which is highlighted in green to answer the incoming call. “Heather, hi,” I tell her in a friendly tone. “Hey bestie! I’m sorry I haven’t talked to you in a while. I have been going to a family councilor with my parents to help with our family issues. How have you been?” she asks. I smile and reply, “actually things have been going great! My mom is getting married again! Oh Heather, you should meet him. Adam and I have really grown close to him, and consider him as our Dad. I know he can’t replace our father, but he really is the best!” I tell her excitedly. “That sounds great! How’s things with your boyfriend? Uh… what’s his name? Kevin?” she asks. “Sadly it wasn’t meant to be. I told him everything and he flipped a lid. I mean I really liked him, but when I told him my actual age, and that I’m still in high school, he got really mad. He dropped me off at the house and I never heard from him again,” I reply. “Oh no! I’m really sorry to hear that. I thought he would be good for you, the only thing I know that your mom wouldn’t approve of is his age. Say, how’s Jax? Is he still as charming as I remember him being?” she asks. ‘Why would she ask about Jax? I mean does she somehow know that I have the hots for him? Naw, how could she? I mean we haven’t talked since she came here to visit,’ I think to myself. “Yeah, he’s still quite the charmer. Actually, Adam was supposed to go to a movie with him tonight, but I have to fill in for him because he’s laying in bed sick. Heather! Oh my gosh! The movie! I gotta go. Jax should be here any minute now. Adam has been waiting to hear from you, and asks me every day if you had called me. Call me again sometime so we can catch up,” I tell her. We say our goodbyes and I close my phone and rush downstairs. 

As Mom and I enter the living room, Matt is sitting on the love seat reading, and Adam is still laying on the couch watching tv. “Ah…ahhhh….. Ah-chooooo,” he sneezes. “Bless you,” Mom, Matt, and I tell him. “Thank you,” he replies and continues watching his show. I sit down beside him and tell him that I hope that he feels better as I run my fingers through his hair. “Hey, come on, it’ll be fun. You can be the nurse, and Jax can be the orderly,” he says jokingly. “Ugh! You don’t what us to get sick do you?” I ask. Suddenly a beeping car horn interrupts our conversation. “Jax is here now, bye guys, I love you,” I say as I give Matt a goodbye hug, and rush out of the door. 

After standing in line for at least 30 minutes, Jax turns to me and says, “What do you say we shy out of this movie?” “Well…. What do you have in mind?” I ask. “Lets just go and relax at my place. I have tons of movies there to chose from. Besides, it doesn’t look like this line is going anywhere anytime soon,” he tells me. I give a little nod in agreement and we get into his car and head to his place. Upon entering his hotel room, male voices echo from the living room. “Paul, I have told you this before that this isn’t good enough, and now I’m gonna tell you again. Now you fix that, or you’re gonna have to find another place to work!” One of the men say. As we enter the living room, there’s four men sitting on the couch doing paperwork that I have never seen before. Jax sighs before calling one of them Dad. A tall, slim man with gray hair, and a well trimmed beard looks over at Jax with an angry expression on his face, and walks towards us. As he stands in front of us, Jax asks him when he got back in town. “I need to talk to you,” Jax’s father tells him and pulls him into another room. 

When they close the door behind them, that’s when the yelling competition starts. “I asked you to do one simple thing of vital importance to me!” Jax’s father yells. “Vital importance?” Jax replies questioningly.  “Yes! Is that too much to ask?” his father shouts. “I went to that bar  and I sat there for hours! You didn’t even call me! Where were you!?” I hear Jax yell at his father. “Did it ever occur to you that I might be tied up? The whole world Jackson, does not revolve around Jackson Heartwell!” His father shouts. “Oh, did it ever?” I hear Jax shout and exit the room. He then slings the door open, and storms over to the bar next to me, and starts pouring himself a drink. “You don’t drink do you?” I ask worriedly. “Only at family reunions,” he replies. “Come on! Don’t you’re driving me home!” I reply. He then slams his drink down onto the bar, rolls his eyes, and says, “Come on, lets get out of here.” I give a shaky little nod, and follow him outside. 

“You don’t have to talk about it if you don’t want to,” I tell him. “Good!” he snaps back at me as I follow him down the steps. “Do you wanna take a walk on the beach or something?” I ask worriedly. “Oh yeah, and check out the homeless people? That would be great!” he snaps at me again. “Jax, I don’t know what happened up there,” I begin but Jax quickly interrupts. “That’s right you don’t!” he shouts. “You didn’t let me finish,” I reply as I choke back the tears. “You’ll have to excuse me, I have a knack for interrupting things,” he yells again. “Jax…” I begin but he interrupts me again. “I’m real good at interrupting things, and I have had just about enough noise for one night!” he shouts. I then notice one of the hotel’s employee’s standing out front of the hotel. “Excuse me, can you get me a Taxi please?” I ask with tears streaming down my cheeks. “Forget the Taxi,” he shouts at the employee. “No! I want a Taxi,” I shout as I begin to storm off with Jax right on my heels. “No! Just come on! DAMN IT!” he yells. Turning to face him I shout, “Stop yelling at me!” Jax then picks up a nearby potted plant and shatters it on the ground, and I take off running with him right behind me, but he’s quick on his feet and grabs me, hugging me tightly as he says he’s sorry. 

“Just  let me go!” I demand. He whips me around to face him as he says, “Faith, I’m an idiot. Please don’t leave,” “You’re scaring me,” I tell him with tear filled eyes. “I’m sorry,” he says as he looks down at the ground, trying to hide the tears. “Jax, what happened?” I ask. “He just gets to me. He always gets to me. I don’t know what I’m supposed to do,” he explains as he embraces me and hugs me tightly as tears stream down his cheeks. “Shhh. It’s ok,” I soothe. He then lifts his head up and our eyes lock for a moment, and he kisses me gently as if to tell me that he needs me. “I have been dreaming of this moment ever since the other day when I walked in on him while he was in the shower. Only the way it happened was far more romantic,” I think to myself. The kiss then turns passionate and I’m lost for words. Suddenly from this very moment, I know that what I felt for Kevin wasn’t real. But this…. I have never been kissed like this, and it all feels so magical and right. Jax, being the gentleman that he is, and a man of keeping his word to my parents, stops himself before we get too carried away, and he drives me home. 

Once we pull into the driveway, he turns off his car, and walks me to the door before saying, “So, after he kicked me out, we didn’t talk for about a year. It’s better now, but it’s still no picnic.” Turning to him I reply, “I couldn’t imagine being cut off like that. I mean I tell my mom everything.” Jax then folds his arms and looks at me before asking, “Everything?” I smile slightly and reply, “Well….not everything.” “Faith, don’t tell Adam I lost my cool today. Ok?” Jax asks. “I won’t. I wouldn’t,” I reply as I caress his cheek and kiss him gently. Putting his arm around me, he says, “So, are you sorry we missed the movie?” “Oh yeah,” I reply sarcastically. He then smiles, and we share one more three minute kiss before I head inside and go to bed. 

The following day at school, I tell Shannon what had happened between Jax and I last night. “What!? Faith, you lucky little witch! He never really goes out with anyone. How did you get so lucky?” she asks. “Well.. lets just say that I understand him. I mean it’s not like we’re going steady or anything,” I reply. “Faith, you had a date, and he asked you out again. If you ask me, that’s dating,” she says. “Oh uh.. So what’s next? Do I get pinned or something?” I ask. “Yeah, preferably on the mattress,” she replies with a giggle. “Shannon!” I gasp. Shannon smiles before replying, “You know, it’s a good thing you’re coming over to study tonight. I can see we have alot of work to do.” Before I get the chance to ask what she means by that, the bell rings, signaling us that class is about to begin, and Shannon and I enter the classroom. 

An hour after health class, Adam bumps into Jax in the hallway. “Jax, how’s it going?” Adam asks. “I’m getting by,” Jax replies as he stops at his locker. “How’s the car?” he asks Adam. “Better, thanks. So, how was the movie?” Adam asks curiously. “We didn’t make the movie,” Jax replies. “Hi,” I tell Jax as I hug him and kiss him on the cheek. “Faith, hi,” he replies as he hugs me in return. With a curious look on his face, Adam asks, “Why didn’t you tell me that you didn’t go to the movie?” “What movie?” I ask jokingly. Jax whispers something in my ear, and I reply, “Ohhhh! That movie. Sorry, it’s no big deal is it?” I ask. “No, no it isn’t,”Adam replies. “I’ll see you later, Adam,” I tell him and continue to walk down the hallway with Jax. 

After school, Jax drops me off at home, and heads home himself. “Hi honey. How was school,” Mom asks. “Uh.. it was good. Mom, would you like some help with dinner?” I ask. “Sure, sweetheart. I can always use a helping hand,” she replies. ” I then tell her that I have a permission slip from my health teacher for her to sign, and that I can’t be in his class unless she signs it. “I’ll sign it after dinner honey, just remind me,” she tells me. Mom and I decide to make fresh baked tilapia with the fish Matt had caught on his day off, with green beans, mac and cheese, and baked potatoes on the side. The oven chimes, signaling the fish is done and I set the table. Mom then heads into the living room and informs Matt and Adam that dinner is done, and we all sit at the table together to enjoy the delicious meal Mom and I prepared. “So, Jason and Michelle went to this spa, they spent two days soaking in herbal mud, and ended up completely potatoed,” Mom informs us. “Potatoed? As in what? Baked, mashed, fried?” Matt says teasingly. “How about relaxed, as in ready to face the world in on Monday morning,” Mom says. “Oh, hey come on. You should do it Matt,” Adam says. “Definitely. I mean Adam’s working this weekend, and I have plans. You guys should just go,” I point out.

“What are your plans this weekend?” Matt asks. “I’m probably going out to a movie or something on Friday night,” I reply. “Who are you going with?” he asks. “Jax,” I reply. The room grows quiet for about five minutes until I break the silence. “Is there a problem?” I ask curiously. “I really don’t want you getting involved with him honey,” Matt says. “Well it’s a little too late for that Matt,” I reply. Matt’s smile turns more serious when he asks me what I mean. “What do you mean?” I shoot back. Now getting angry, Matt says, “I mean that I don’t want you dating him period.” Turning to Adam, I tell him that he can jump in at any time. “He has nothing to say about this!” Matt says. “Well I see. Exactly just when did you actually become my father? You’re just my stepdad, and technically you’re not even my stepdad yet. You’re still Mom’s fiance who just lives here. I don’t take orders from you! I know my father would approve of me dating him! I guess I’ll just make plans with Shannon then! But you will Not control who I can and can’t date! It won’t be long until I’m eighteen and then who will you control?” I shout. “Thanks for dinner Mom. It’s been real,” I tell her and head up to my room. 

Matt sighs and says, ” I have a right to my opinion.” “And I have a right to mine,” Mom says with a frown. “Which is?” Matt asks her. “I like Jax,” she replies and takes the empty plates from the table to the kitchen. Turning to Adam Matt says, “You wanna do us all a favor? Tell your friend to watch his step. “Matt, I can’t do that,” Adam replies. “Yes, you can. Unless you want me to,” Matt tells him.

Meanwhile upstairs, I curl up on my bed and Mom enters my room with my dinner plate. “Faith?” Mom says as she sets my plate down on the table by the door, and sits down beside me on my bed. “Didn’t you say you have something from school for me to sign?” she asks. “Oh, yeah. It’s right here, thanks for reminding me,” I tell her as I hand her the paper. “Is this course as loaded as it was when I was in school?” she asks. “I don’t know. We haven’t gotten up to the sex chapter yet,” I reply. “Well this book looks pretty thorough,” Mom says as she scrolls through the pages. “Yeah, well it doesn’t deal with the most important stuff,” I tell her. “Like what?” she asks. “Like how it feels in your heart when you really want to connect with someone,” I reply. Mom then moves a strand of hair from my neck before replying, “When it’s the right time and the right person, it feels wonderful.” Turning to her, I say, “And you don’t think Jax is the right person either?” “Oh Faith, there’s so many things that goes into a relationship. There’s mutual respect, commitment, and if that connection is meaningful it doesn’t have to be about sex,” she explains. I smile slightly before replying, “I hate to break this to you Mom, but it definitely has something to do with it.” Shannon pulls into the driveway and honks her horn signaling me that she’s here to pick me up. “Oh, that’s Shannon now. I’m going over to her house tonight to study,” I tell Mom and kiss her on the cheek and head downstairs where I bump into Adam. “Why didn’t you stick up for me?” I ask. “What was I supposed to say, that he’s a boy scout?” Adam asks. “Well, you could have said something,” I reply and head outside. 

As Shannon and I enter her house, her mother offers us some snacks and drinks, which we both accept and head upstairs to her room to study. Sitting on her bed as Shannon’s reading her book, all I can think about is the argument that happened back at home. “You know, I don’t get it. Why? Why does Matt suddenly want to act like my father after he said he wouldn’t try to replace him? It’s like they’re on this conspiracy to take away the most exciting, and best thing that’s happened to me since I moved here,” I tell her. “That’s why you’re keeping your date with Jax and sleeping at my house,” Shannon tells me. “This is going so fast,” I add. “And we’re just talking about it, just wait until you get to the real thing,” she says. “I guess I’m just more into the romance angle, like in the movies,” I explain. “That’s great for the movies, but you do have protection right?” she asks. My smile turns into a slight frown as I tell her no, and she tells me to open the drawer to her nightstand beside her bed. She then asks me to hand her a black box that’s in the drawer and I place it into her hands. “Basic rule number one, never rely on the guy memorize that,” she says as she hands me a couple of condoms. “You sound so clinical,” I reply. “Clinical is, what time should we schedule the procedure,” she tells me. “Shannon! That’s awful!” I reply shocked that she would say something like that. “Would you rather sit around thinking up names? How about Jax Jr, or Faithina?” she asks. “Alright, I’ll take them. This is not the part that I want to think about,” I reply. “Faith, if things go well, you won’t be thinking at all,” she points out. A slight smile spreads across my face, and all I can think about is, how I can’t wait to see Jax again.

The following day at school, Jax and I decide to cuddle up under a nearby oak tree to have lunch, as my brother and the rest of our friends chat away under one of the other trees nearby. Jax notices that I have a parfait in my lunch bag, and he tries to be sneaky and grab it right from under my nose. I grab my bag and squeal no, but then he tickles me mercilessly. Giggling in delight I mange to get out, “Alright, alright. I give! I’ll share it with you!” When he lets me up, he wraps his arms around me and kisses my cheek, and that’s when I notice Adam smiling, but also staring at us. When the bell rings to signal that lunch is over and the next class is about to start, Jax and I part ways to go to our classes. Jax bumps into Adam in the hallway. “Hey Jax, where are you going so fast?” Adam asks. “I have somewhere to be. Why, what’s up?” Jax replies. “Oh, I was hoping you could help me work on my car this weekend,” Adam tells him. “Look, I would like to, but my old man got back in town, and he’s got…. it’s a long story,” Jax explains. “Don’t you have time to tell me about it?” Adam asks. “No, not really,” Jax says. “Oh, but you do have time to make out with my sister, or is that just until next month, when you tell her that you don’t have time for her either?” Adam asks now annoyed. “What’s your point?” Jax asks. “My point is, you better really like her. She’s very romantic, dreamy, sweet, and she’s not going to move on that easily. Jax, she’s a virgin.” Adam tells him. “What kind of jerk do you think I am? Have a nice weekend,” Jax tells him as he walks away.

That evening, I’m supposed to meet Jax at the movie theater. Shannon and Blair come over to help me pick out something to wear for my date with Jax. After an hour of trying on many, many outfits, I spin around and ask the two girls what they think of my outfit, and they tell me that I look great. We then head downstairs where I run into Mom and Matt in the foyer. “Bye Mom, bye Matt,” I tell them as I hug and kiss them on their cheeks, and head outside with the two girls. They drop me off at the movie theater, where I wait for Jax, and pace back and forth until the last showing of the evening ends. After finally getting the hint that he isn’t going to show up, I pull out my cell phone, and call a Taxi to get a ride to Shannon’s house.

The following morning, after Shannon drives me home, I’m sitting in my room by the window looking outside with tears streaming down my cheeks, as Adam enters the room. “Faith, do you wanna talk?” he asks. I sigh before replying, “I’ve been talking to Shannon all night, and it didn’t get me anywhere.” He gives a little shrug and nods before saying, “Well, I’m open for the morning shift.” I then move to my bed and sit on the edge, and Adam follows and takes a seat next to me. “He didn’t show up Adam. I was ready to spend the night with him, and he didn’t show up. What a jerk huh?” I tell him. With a look of sympathy, Adam replies, “He sure can be.” “Not him, me. I thought I was special,” I cry out as I bury my face into the palm of my hands. ” Adam places his hand on my shoulder, and says, “You are.” “Well not to him obviously. I mean, finally I get the guts to call him, and this man says that he won’t speak to me,” I explain. Adam sighs and replies, “Faith, you can’t beat yourself up over someone like him.” I suddenly find myself annoyed that he would say something like that and reply, “Why would you say that!?” “I don’t know. I thought he was different, but he doesn’t let anyone in,” Adam says. As the tears start to flow again, I reply, “I don’t understand Adam. We were so there! Even yesterday out on the lawn, we were together, we were in sync. I was so happy. I don’t know what happened, but something happened.” Taking a deep breath Adam says, “I’m really sorry Faith.” “I really have to find out what I did wrong. I need to know what happened,” I tell him.

The weekend goes by quickly, and I’m so upset that I got sick this morning, sick enough that I end up staying home from school. Adam pops his head in to tell me that he’s leaving for school and kisses me on the cheek. “I hope you feel better soon Sis,” he says and exits the room. A few hours later, the lunch bell rings, signaling classes are resuming, and Adam finds Jax in the computer lab doing school work. Adam approaches him and says, “Been busy lately Jax?” “Well if it isn’t the master of tact and diplomacy,” Jax says. “What’s going on with you man? I know you moved. I went to your old house, and they said that you didn’t even leave a forwarding address.” Adam tells him. “It’s a long story,” Jax replies. “Would you rather tell it to Faith?” Adam asks. Jax slams his fist on the desk before replying, “Adam, don’t start that with me alright! I got the message, you don’t want me to hurt your sister.” Adam raises a brow and replies, “Then why is that exactly what you did!? Just to spite me?” “Look, it wasn’t because of you. You gotta believe me, something came up that’s all.” Jax says. “Jax, it’s one thing not to talk to me, I’m not gonna cry about it, but when you do it to her, she feels like she did something wrong,” Adam explains. “It wasn’t her! It had nothing to do with her!” Jax snaps. “Then why don’t you tell her that? She was so upset all weekend that she even stayed home from school today,” Adam tells him. Jax hangs his head down as if he’s feeling guilty, and silence spreads between the two for a few seconds. “Fine! It’s got nothing to do with her, it’s got nothing to do with me, meanwhile you’re not talking to neither of us. Makes alot of sense,” Adam says as he exits the room disappointed in him.

Later that afternoon, after Adam leaves for work, I’m sitting in the living room watching one of my favorite shows as the doorbell chimes. I turn down the tv, and answer the door to find Jax standing on the other side. I leave the door open for him to come in, and I return to my seat on the couch. Jax enters the living room and says, “I’m not very good at this, and I feel terrible.” Turning to him, I reply,” You look terrible.” “You look great,” he replies. “You must need glasses,” I tell him. “I’m sorry,” he says. “I know…. You’re an idiot. That’s not good enough this time,” I say. “I don’t know what to say,” he replies. “Oh you don’t? You are too much! You know, you don’t tell me where you were or what happened, then you expect me to forgive you? Why don’t you just leave?” I ask. “You think I’m proud of myself? well I’m not. I’ve just been trying to figure out what to say to you,” he says. “Then say it! Adam told me that you moved. You didn’t even…..” I begin, but Jax interrupts. “I didn’t even show up Friday night because I had to help my father pack. He needs to disappear and….” Jax begins but I interrupt him this time. “What do you mean? Where did he go?” I ask. “Out of the country for a little while. I really don’t know where. That way if I’m dragged into court, I don’t have anything to tell them. My dad found out that he’s going to be indited on some charges. Not murders or anything like that. It’s securities fraud and things like that,” he explains.

Jax then looks down at the floor, looks back at me, shakes his head, and heads toward the front door. “Jax!” I say and get up to follow him. Turning to me and placing his hands on my cheeks, he says, “I’ve been thinking about you the whole time. I just had to go do this, please don’t think that I didn’t care. The truth is, I do care.” “I just wish you would have called,” I tell him. “I just couldn’t,” he says. I pause for a moment before replying, “I called you.” “When? They….they didn’t tell me.” Jax asks confused. I sigh before taking a seat on the couch again and reply,” Now I feel terrible.” Jax gets down on his knees in front of me before replying, “I…I don’t want to make you feel terrible anymore.” “How do you want me to feel Jax? What do you want me to feel for you?” I ask him. He kisses me tenderly and says, “You feel so warm.” I then slide his jacket off as he continues kissing me. The kiss turns to heated passion as we lay on the couch making out for what seems like hours, that is until I hear a car pull up in the driveway. I quickly get up and peak through the curtains to see that it’s Matt. “Hurry, get your jacket on and follow me to the front door,” I instruct, and Jax grabs his jacket and throws it on as we rush to the door.

No sooner than we reach the door, Matt enters the house. “Hi Matt, you remember Jax?” I ask. “Jax, I’ll tell Adam you came by alright?” I tell him. “Yeah, alright. Nice seeing you again Mr. Whitmore,” Jax says as he heads to his car. “What kind of idiot do you take me for? Are you gonna pretend that he was just over here fixing cars?” Matt asks angrily. “Why are you so upset?” I ask. “You wanna learn about your pal there? His father’s exploits would make a good novel someday. Maybe he can write about it from prison.” he says as he hands me the newspaper. “Was he arrested?” I ask curiously. “Not yet, he skipped town. Great role model huh? Some example.” he explains. “Matt, Jax is nothing like his father. He’s just trying to get by like the rest of us,” I tell him. “You deserve better than that!” Matt says. “Like who? Someone straighter, younger, quieter?” I ask. “For a start,” he replies. “Matt, those nice boys maybe mild mannered on the outside, but mostly what they all think about is sex,” I try to explain. “Who said anything about sex? I’m talking about the person’s values. I’m talking about their character,” he says. “Are you really worried about my character? Why is it with Adam, you only wanted him to know about birth control, but my whole value system is on the line?” I ask furiously. “Faith, it’s different with girls, it just is! You need to know who you’re dealing with,” he tells me. “Then let me get to know him. That’s all I want to do,” I point out. “Is that all?” he asks. “What do you want me to say? That I’m gonna wait until I get married? You’re so worried and I haven’t even done anything yet,” I tell him. “I’m not worried, I just don’t know if I’m ready.. I mean if you’re ready to…” he begins but I interrupt him. “And if I’m ready first, then what? Should I lie and sneak around, or are you gonna trust that I know what I’m doing?” I ask, and give him his newspaper back, and head up to my room.

The following day at school, I told Shannon the whole conversation I had with Matt after Jax left. “I can’t believe you would actually say that to your father,” she says. “Neither can I, but it just kind of slipped out. And besides, he’s not my stepfather yet,” I tell her. “What did he say?” she asks with a smile. “Well, it’s not like he gave me his blessing, but at least Jax isn’t totally off limits anymore,” I explain. “Well that’s cool,” she replies. 

Jax finds Adam at his locker and says, “If you need help working on the car I can do it this weekend,” “That’s alright, I can handle it,” Adam replies. “Jax sighs and smiles slightly before saying, “Somehow I always end up apologizing to you Parker people. I’m sorry if it felt like I bailed out on you man.” “I guess it bothered me more than I thought. I’m sorry that I opened my big mouth about Faith,” Adam says. “Would you have felt better if I had asked you first, about seeing her I mean?” Jax asks. “Are you saying that you should have?” Adam asks with a puzzled look upon his face. “You tell me, not that I would have done anything different,” Jax says. Adam smiles, and gives him a little nod before telling Jax that it’s alright.

Later that evening after dinner, the doorbell chimes, and I hear Mom answer it. “Oh hello Jax. Come on in,” she tells him. A smile spreads across Jax’s face as he walks over the threshold and into the foyer. Mom turns to him and says, “I’ll go up and see if Faith’s ready.” Jax gives a little nod as he waits by the stairs for me to come down. “Dear, Jax is here,” Mom tells Matt as she heads upstairs. 

Matt enters the foyer and says, “How are you holding up?” “I’m ok. I just don’t talk to the press much. Mr. Whitmore, I’ve never been comfortable being known as Ben Heartwell’s son. Particularly since I hardly know the man,” Jax explains. “It’s a shame that it has to be that way,” Matt says apologetically. “Adam and Faith are very lucky to have parents like you,” Jax says. 

As I come downstairs and enter the foyer, Matt and Jax turn towards me. “Goodnight Matt,” I say as I kiss him on the cheek. Matt smiles and replies, “You take care now.” “I will,” I reply. I smile widely at the sight of Jax waiting to take me on our date. Jax opens the door for me, and we both say goodnight to Mom and Matt once more and we get into Jax’s car.

Leave a comment