Chapter – 1

My name is Faith Parker, coming from a wealthy family with my twin brother Adam. We live in the small town called Willow Creek, where my mother and father had moved after they were married. They bought a small four bedroom home, which over looks a huge park with a creek that has the clearest blue water you could ever imagine. What brought my family to this lovely little town you ask? Well that’s easy, my father has been in the marines ever since he had turned eighteen, and promised my mother that she would remain living near her parents. It took him a few years to be able to keep that promise, but once he had been promoted to Sargent of the Marine Corp. he surprised my mother and bought her the house of her dreams.

My life was turned upside down almost a year ago. I wish I was a regular sixteen year old girl, but a girl can dream can’t she? I had a normal life once, a normal teenage life at that, but I was forced to grow up early at the hand of my mother. It wasn’t totally her fault though, but for you to be able to understand the predicament I am now in, I can only go back to the beginning. It began shortly after our sixteenth birthday, when our birthday party was interrupted by someone knocking on the door. “This may be our guest of honor now,” Mom tells Adam and I as she opens the door. When she turns to see who is standing on the other side of the door, her smile turns into concern, for we haven’t had a police officer at our door before, other than Adam being brought home well after curfew one time. 

The officer asks to speak with Mom privately, which she agrees to do so, and steps out of the doorway, and closes the door behind her. “I wonder what that’s all about?” I ask Adam. He lets out a sigh and says, “I’m not sure, but whatever it is, it can’t be good.” “You didn’t beat the crap out of Craig Morgan from school did you?” I ask him curiously. Adam smiles slightly and replies, “No, but I should have for trying to put his hands on you! Next time I’ll bust him in his forehead for trying to put his hands where they don’t belong! Besides, why would the police be here because of that? All I did was give the guy a piece of my mind!”  I let out a little giggle before replying, “Oh heck Adam, I don’t know anything about the law! I haven’t been in trouble before. You on the other hand, were brought home well past curfew once before.” “That was the only time I was ever in trouble, and what does the cops being here have to do with me exactly?” Adam says with a smirk. “Oh Adam, I was only kidding. It’s probably nothing. Maybe someone’s house got broke into or something” I tell him. 

Twenty minutes goes by, and Mom finally comes back into the house. “Faith, Adam, honey I-I need you to take a seat so I can talk to both of  you,” she tells us. She then turns to my best friend Heather and says,”Would you mind waiting in the other room while I talk to them? It’s really important,” “Yes Ma’am, I don’t mind at all. I’ll just be in the living room,” Heather replies and exits the dining room. Adam and I get a puzzled look as we take a seat at the dining room table across from mom as she looks at the floor and says, “That was Colonel Buchanan at the door. He stopped by to wish you both a happy birthday, and he also said he was sorry to have to give us this heartbreaking information.” Mom pauses as Adam and I glance at one another, and look back over at our mother, who has a sorrowful expression on her face. I break the silence by asking, “What information Mom? Is everything alright?” “Dad should be here soon since he was supposed to be coming home today. Maybe he can sort whatever this is out.” Adam adds. As tears stream down her rosy cheeks, she manages to tell us, “Your father was shot in the line of duty a couple of days ago. This was the soonest Colonel Buchanan could come out and give us this information personally.”

Adam jumps up from his chair and says, “So Dad is in the hospital? We should go and see him before he gets out of surgery!” “This is hard for me to tell you this, especially on your birthday, but your father……” Mom begins, but a storm of tears pore from her eyes, which makes it hard for her to speak. She then takes a deep breath to try and calm herself before she continues, “ Oh no, honey you see….” Mom pauses for a brief moment and then continues. “Your father passed away in the hospital in Iraq. He was protecting his best friend in the marines when he noticed that he had been shot. Your father always said no one gets left behind and he lived by that. They will be awarding your father two medals next weekend in California.” she informs us apologetically. Tears roll down my cheeks after hearing the news Mom had received. I turn my head towards Adam, who is sitting in shock of what we just heard. I reach over to place my hand on his shoulder to comfort him. Swatting my hand away from him he furiously says, “No! It’s not true!” “Adam, I told you everything Colonel Buchanan said about what happened to your father. “Well Colonel Sanders is a liar! A big fat liar! Dad’s on his way home, in fact he’ll be here any minute, you’ll see!” Adam screams and runs upstairs to his room. I plunge my face in my hands and cry uncontrollably at the thought that I have lost my father, and I will never see him again. “I’m sorry Mom, I really am! I’m trying so hard to be strong, not just for you, but for Adam too.” I tell her in between sobs. I can hear Mom sniffling from across the table. I then wipe my tears on the sleeve of my sweater, and look at Mom, who had also been crying. “I’ll go talk to him. You just relax, I’ll be back in a few.” I tell her soothingly.

As I reach the top of the staircase, and reach the door to Adam’s room, I hear him sniffling and trying to convince himself that Dad is still very much on his way home. I take a deep breath and gently knock on his door, and he tells me to come in. I then sit beside him on his bed and put my head on his shoulder. “Shhhh. It’s ok, I’m here.” I tenderly tell him. Tears fall freely down Adam’s cheeks as he says,”H-how can something like this happen? He wasn’t supposed to leave us so soon!” Tears swell in my eyes as I reply, “Oh Adam, I miss him too! He was supposed to be here today, and every birthday and any other special days which may come! I do know this, he may not be here physically, but he’s here in spirit, and as long as we hold those special memories close to use, he will always be with us.” Our conversation is suddenly interrupted by a gentle rapping at the door. I get up and open the door, and find Heather who over heard everything Mom had said downstairs. She gives us a sympathetic look and hugs me tightly and says, “I’m so sorry bestie! If there is anything you need, you ask me alright? I had just left your mom in the kitchen. ” I give a little nod and Heather asks if she may have a word with Adam alone. I agree, and tell them I need to get back to Mom and help her through this.

Upon arriving in the kitchen, Moms glass makes a small tinging sound as she pours herself a beverage and mixes it with some Cola. “Looks like tonight’s gonna be a long night,” I think to myself. “You’re Nana Emily is on her way over with you’re grandma Vicki and Papa Harrison. They’re gonna help me with the arrangements of you’re father. You’re Aunt Allison is coming with them to keep you and Adam company.” She tells me. “Alright Mom. Do you need anything before I head back upstairs to be with Adam?” I ask. She wipes a single tear from her cheek and says, “No honey, I’ll be alright. You go right ahead and be with your brother. You won’t be going to school for the remainder of the week, until we have laid your father to rest.” I give a nod and head back upstairs to Adams room. 

As I clear the top step of the staircase, Things seem very quiet. Perhaps Adam is asleep? Quietly I crack Adams bedroom door open to see if he’s okay or possibly sleeping, and notice Heather and Adam looking pretty cozy. “Looks like he found a way to cope with what happened tonight. Wish I had someone to distract me from this horrible situation our family is in.” I think to myself. Quickly but quietly, I close the door, and head to my room to check my Facebook page and head off to bed. It’s going to be a long day tomorrow and I’m sure I’ll need my rest.

Meanwhile downstairs, Emily, Vicki, and Allison arrive and are talking to Camryn about Jakes funeral. “Oh sweetheart, I’m sorry this has happened to you! If you should need a break from all this, the children can surely stay with us for a while,” Vicki offers. Camryn blinks back the tears that are starting to flood her eyes and says, “Thanks Mom, but that won’t be necessary. We all need to stick together as a family, it’s the only way we can overcome this tragedy.” Emily nods in agreement and says, “The death of my son is a tragic moment, but he will be remembered by everyone for his braveness. The press has already marked him as a hero. However, I just as yourself have to be strong for my husband and the other children at home. Christian is not taking this well at all, but he has all of us to help him through this. Camryn, I have known you since you were very little, and have always loved you as if you were my very own, and if you should need anything at all please don’t hesitate to call us.” 

Camryn smiles slightly before replying, “Thank you so much Mrs. Parker. You and your family have been nothing but very kind throughout the years, and I’m very grateful to have you in my life. If we should need anything, you and my mother will be the first to know. Thank you all for coming, it means so much to me and the children. If you don’t mind, I have so much to do in the morning, and I’m afraid I need my rest as well.” “Of course we don’t mind honey. We’re sharing a hotel suite just in the center of town. Would you like us to come with you to the funeral home to help with the preparations?” Emily asks. “I would love to have you all there with me. This is still quite a shock to us, and frankly I just don’t know if I can do this myself,” Camryn replies as she cuffs her face with her hands. Vicki raises a brow and replies, “Well then it’s settled! We’ll all meet here, say at ten o’clock?”  Everyone then agrees to meet at the said time, and retires to the hotel so Camryn and the children can get some rest.

Leave a comment